Insidious (2011)

Date Watched: July 17, 2011
Source: On Demand

This is not going to be easy.

So, a little bit of background: Shwam and I were supposed to see this movie but something happened and we didn’t get a chance to, and I’d been hearing bad things, so I thought nothing more of it. Fast forward to the aforementioned date, and a commercial for the movie, now out on DVD, caught the attention of my boyfriend. The commercial showed a certain scene that made him pause for a second before turning to me and saying, “well, that was f-ing creepy.” That’s not a common reaction from Mr. Nothing-Scares-Me. So after a quick On Demand search on my cable box, I decided to order it and watch it after the man went to bed. I knew he’d have no desire to actually watch it… that one scene was enough to satisfy him. Weird. So about 11:30-midnightish, I turned off the lights in the living room and ordered the movie.

The best way to describe this movie is that it goes from freakin scary, to hokey, to scary, to hokey, to creepy, to hokey, to scary as hell, to hokey… you get the picture. It flip-flops between making you groan and making you gasp so many times you don’t know which end is up. The hokey parts are really hokey, but on the same note, the scary parts are HOLY-CRAP-I-THINK-I-NEED-A-XANAX-AND-DEAR-LORD-I-SHOULD-REALLY-TURN-ON-EVERY-LIGHT-IN-THE-HOUSE scary.

But the bottom line is that I think the scary outweighed the hokey, and it started out creepy immediately, and though the very last scene was hokey, the scene before it was creepy enough to cancel out what would follow. I couldn’t go straight to bed when it was over… and that means it was a raging success in my book.


Queue it on Netflix

3 Comments

Filed under Loved It

3 responses to “Insidious (2011)

  1. Pingback: Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark (2011) |

  2. Pingback: Paranormal Activity 2 (2010) |

  3. Pingback: The Woman in Black (2012) |

Leave a comment