Return of the Living Dead (1985)

Countdown to Halloween: October 10, 2011
Source: Netflix Instant Play

While a horror comedy isn’t really the same as horror, you pretty much have to figure that even a serious horror movie from the 80s is going to seem comical to a horror fanatic. I don’t think the intention was for every 80s horror flick to be cheesy… but it is. And so when I finished watching Return of the Living Dead, I felt refreshed again. A good 80s horror tale does wonders when you’ve watched a string of duds.

There were so many great things about this. The music is so perfect I almost wondered if John Carpenter had a hand in it. I will certainly be looking for other movies where Matt Clifford has written music, that’s for sure. The actors were perfect for 80s horror… just perfect. Cheese to the max. When Burt was sawing off the first zombie’s head, and Frank was yelling “ohhhhH!!!! OOHHHHHHH I CAN’T TAKE IT OHHHHHHHH!” I was cracking up. And with a bunch of teenagers in perfect 80s punk garb, bearing names like Scuz, Trash, and Suicide, how can you go wrong? The hair, the clothes, the music, the cheese… and the zombies!! The zombies were great! Slimy, black… rotting skeletons… even one with nothing from the waist down and a constantly twitching spinal cord. Fabulous.

I can’t tell you how happy this movie made me. Hoping this is what picks the project up for me a little!

BRAAAAAAAAINS!! MOOOOOORE BRAAAAAAINS!


See it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Loved It

Leave a comment