Gran Torino (2008)

Date Watched: April 25, 2011
Source: redbox

Wow.

Of course I thought this was going to be another ho-hum car movie. I was delighted to find out that the movie really doesn’t have much to do with the car at all, nice as it is.

Clint Eastwood is so fun to watch. I am not by any means saying he’s a good actor. In fact, I don’t really think he is. I have no way of knowing, since he always plays the same character, more or less. But that also doesn’t mean he’s not fun to watch. And in this movie, it’s especially fun.

I don’t care what anyone says… the dude is funny. He’s an absolute curmudgeon, and the racism just makes it hysterical. Anyone who doesn’t think so is really just too sensitive. Hell, look at Thao and Sue. He calls Thao “zip” about a skillion times, and Sue and Thao just glaze over it. Nobody cares. In fact, Sue doesn’t let him fool her into believing he’s that much of an asshole. She knows there’s something good in there, and she finds it underneath all the piss, vinegar, and racial slurs. Those are all just a facade.

Point is, I freaking loved this.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Loved It

Leave a comment