Fast Five (2011)

Date Watched: May 2, 2011
Source: Theatre

You can say whatever you want about the F&F franchise, but I love it. Granted, I haven’t seen 2 or 4, but I’m told that 2 is unwatchable and also unrelated to the rest of them. I still need to see 4, and I feel like I still need to try and watch 2.

But anyway, the first one is one of my favorite movies. It’s one of my big-time quotables, apparently. Especially drunk, so I’m told. But I’ve loved that movie since the first time I saw it. Then I saw 3… against my better judgment, since I HATE watching movies out of sequence. And I liked it quite a bit. I didn’t really want to see 5, since I hadn’t seen 4… and it seems as though I missed a few important details. So I really do need to see 4.

I loved 5. Something about F&F makes their heinous errors completely acceptable. Like in the first one. O’Connor overdoes it with the NOS, and that causes… his floor panel to fall out? And little things… like when Jesse’s looking under the hood of the Supra that Brian has towed in. He says, “2JZ, no shit!” when every Supra had that engine. Little things like that.

And there were huge errors like that in 5. I really wish I could point them out… but I don’t do spoilers, so I’ll just say this: The climax… the actual heist… is utterly ridiculous. That doesn’t mean I didn’t love it though.

Anywho, I guess my general point here is that I loved the movie. It’s hard to post about recent movies without spoilers and still get my point across… but… there it is.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Loved It

Leave a comment