The Rite (2011)

Date Watched: January 29, 2011
Source: Theatre

For any of you who’ve either been following my blog or have gone back and read, oh, the last week of October, you’ll already know that my all-time favorite horror movie is The Exorcist. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it a million times: It’s the perfect, timeless horror movie. It never gets any less haunting. So naturally, any movies having to do with exorcism are facing some hard criticism from me, to say the very least. Exorcist: The Beginning = crap. Dominion: Prequel to the Exorcist = crap. The Exorcism of Emily Rose = a crappy ripoff.

So of course, I felt like this was going to be garbage too. The problem with all of those movies, especially the latter, is that they try to recapture The Exorcist by using the same tricks. No. Doesn’t work. I guess Michael Petroni, Matt Baglio, and Mikael Håfström figured that out too, because not only do they refrain from ripping off the original great, but they actually poke fun at others who do. Early on in the film, when skeptical seminary student Michael visits Father Lucas to see an exorcism first hand, Father Lucas actually says something along the lines of, “What, are you expecting pea soup?” When I heard that, I figured that this film was finally going to take exorcism a little bit more seriously.

And, they most certainly did. A lot of reviews of this film bashed it, but that’s because I think they were looking for some pea soup. This film goes more into what a real possession and exorcism looks like. It’s not always just a bunch of obscenities and grotesque physical manifestations.

So while the two people who accompanied me to this movie were so-so about it, I really enjoyed it.


Queue it on Netflix

1 Comment

Filed under Loved It

One response to “The Rite (2011)

  1. Pingback: The Possession (2012) |

Leave a comment