Daily Archives: 08/04/2010

Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner (1967)

Date Watched: August 3, 2010
Source: Netflix Instant Play

One of the people I work with said that if I didn’t like this movie, there was something wrong with me. Luckily for me, I loved it.

I’m not going into the whole race diatribe or anything. These are things that have been spoken about on numerous occasions. Everybody knows every argument. So I’m going to stick with the movie.

Acting was great, direction was great, scripting was great. Spencer Tracy gives one of the most powerful monologues that has ever been written. Sidney Poitier is excellent as well, but that goes without saying.

There are three things that I don’t think really added up. I think that Joanna’s lack of acknowledgment about the race card is unrealistic for the period, regardless of how liberally she was brought up. Heck, it’s unrealistic for the current period, nevermind the late sixties. Also, I might have been imagining things, but it really seemed like John was becoming thoroughly irritated by Joanna’s enthusiasm throughout the movie. It was so much that I really honestly thought he would break off the engagement before the movie was over. Did I make that up; am I reading too much into his facial expressions and such? Lastly, if at 23, I were to bring home a man of 37, my parents would flip about that more than anything else. I feel like it was a hair unrealistic that nobody cared about the age difference.

None of these things stopped this movie from being a truly excellent piece of work. I look forward to watching it again.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Loved It