James and the Giant Peach (1996)

Date Watched: August 5, 2010
Source: Netflix Instant Play

This was not all that bad. I wish I remembered the book better, because I can’t attest to how accurate the movie was.

But it was rather cute. I don’t know what the real term for it is, but I liked the “mixed media” type animation they did. It was very good, visually speaking at least. Good enough that I wasn’t scared of the bugs, because they didn’t look like bugs. I could’ve done without the Earthworm because he was boring, and the Glow Worm rocked my socks; I loved her. I loved the Spider’s little boots and the Lady Bug was just cute as a button.

One thing that both surprised and disappointed me greatly, though, was when they were underwater fighting the pirates. The captain was Jack Skellington. I’m well aware that Tim Burton worked on this film, but come on… recycling characters? That was really lame.

All in all, it wasn’t that bad. I don’t think I’d go out of my way to watch it again, but if there was nothing else on aside from that, I’d leave it on.


Queue it on Netflix

2 Comments

Filed under Meh

2 responses to “James and the Giant Peach (1996)

  1. MacBean

    BOO. EARTHWORM IS MY FAVORITE. XD But I’m biased because my favorite actor does his voice.

    The animation style is stop-motion.

    And Jack isn’t RECYCLED. He makes a CAMEO. He’s in three of Tim Burton’s other films, as well as one other Henry Selick one. It’s not lame. 😦

  2. but he’s not actually Jack Skellington in the movie. If he was the real Jack Skellington, then I would agree. But it’s just his body. 😦

Leave a comment