Daily Archives: 10/07/2011

The Thing (1982)

Countdown to Halloween: October 7, 2011
Source: Netflix Instant Play

I didn’t high expectations for this movie, despite bearing the name John Carpenter. Maybe because the last John Carpenter film I watched was Big Trouble in Little China. I briefly forgot that John Carpenter and the horror genre are just two things that should be together.

This just oozed John Carpenter’s style. The music, the gore, even the cheese. It even gave me a new respect for Kurt Russell. Whoever was responsible for making The Thing itself was spot on. It was an inconceivable mass of body parts and goo. The sounds it made, the forms it took, the methods it used to grip onto its next victim… I was curled up in my chair. It grossed me out. I’m never grossed out. Let’s not even talk about the parts where it looked like a spider. UUUUUUUUUGHGGGGHGHHGHGHGHGHGHGHBLARGH.

Awesome. I hope the remake is on par… because it’s got some big shoes to fill.


See it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Loved It