Daily Archives: 10/22/2011

Dumplings (2004)

Countdown to Halloween: October 22, 2011
Source: Netflix Instant Play

SO not what I expected. Asian horror is usually weird, granted… but it’s usually more visually scary than this. Apparently, this was part of another movie called Three Extremes, and this was a fully fleshed movie of a story included in the film. I’m curious to see the (original?) other version.

The scare here isn’t in the visuals. It’s in the grotesque. I wouldn’t call it gory, but there are some severely disturbing shots in this film that, if nothing else, make you feel sort of icky. I had to force myself to continue looking at the screen a few times. Also, the sound made during the preparation and consuming of the dumplings was really gross. It was a strange, crunchy, fleshy sound… yuck!!

Bottom line… good film. But no more dumplings for me for a while. No sir and no ma’am.


See it on Netflix

1 Comment

Filed under Pretty Good