Daily Archives: 05/27/2010

The Sixth Sense (1999)

Date Watched: May 13, 2010

Source: TV

This movie had four stars according to my Comcast guide. The “I see dead people!” has probably been uttered at least once by pretty much everyone on the planet who can speak, and probably some who can’t. Heck, it’s even got Bruce Willis, and what can he do wrong? But never underestimate the power that Haley Joel Osment has to destroy a movie. If a movie contains that kid, it will be bad. The only exception to this has been Pay It Forward and that’s because of Kevin Spacey’s genius (though, even he couldn’t save Shrink).

So, Haley Joel Osment aside… the movie was pretty boring up until THE TWIST. But by the time THE TWIST happened, the movie was over. It was very Seven Pounds, meaning you really had no balls to the film until the last few minutes. Sure, they tried to sprinkle some creepy dead people here and there, which works for all of three seconds, until you realize that Haley Joel Osment is really the creepiest thing in the scene. Either way, I was pretty pissed I’d wasted that two hours of my life when it was all said and done.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Not a Fan

Charly (1968)

Date Watched: May 13, 2010

Source: Netflix

To be fair, I had seen this movie years ago, but it’s been so long that it was pretty much like seeing it for the first time. It’s based on the short story Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. It’s such an interesting premise that I’m sure back in 1958 when it was written, they thought the technology would be inevitable by now, and it’s not.

The whole thing is rather heartwrenching. Cliff Robertson (who I loved in Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken as Dr. Carver) plays Charly’s mental illness in such a way that you love Charly from the start. You want to throttle his co-workers for playing tricks on him. You want to smack the doctors for making him upset. You want to repaint his crappy room and pick him some nice flowers.

And then, you hate Charly. He’s a pompous ass.

And then you love Charly again. By the that time, you’re very, very sad. And that’s all I’m saying.

Good movie. I don’t want to give too much away.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Loved It

Shrink (2009)

Date Watched: May 11, 2010

Source: Netflix Instant Play

Don’t. Just, don’t. Kevin Spacey was the only good thing about this whole movie. The whole thing is just plain stupid, and… don’t.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Not a Fan

Poltergeist III

Date Watched: May 10, 2010

Source: Netflix

I may have skipped the third Poltergeist had it not been on the same disc as the second. I actually kind of liked this one more, though. Lara Flynn Boyle has freaking great hair in this movie, and I love the building they live in. But the apartment itself seems sort of bland, I think. Anyway, I think it’s crap that Carol Ann’s parents just dumped her with an aunt who can’t stand her, to go to school with a psychologist that convinces everyone she’s brainwashing them into believing her lies.

The thing with all the mirrors was pretty interesting, along with the ice in the swimming pool and the puddle and blizzard in the parking lot. This one was just a lot more fun to watch than Poltergeist II. I was disappointed that Satan looked so different this time. Personally, I think he was creepier in II. And he was defeated too easily. And… poor Tangina!


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Meh

Poltergeist II: The Other Side (1986)

Date Watched: May 10, 2010

Source: Netflix

Meh. The phone trick was neat, and Satan was awfully creeptastic, but it didn’t hold the same spook that the first film did. I still don’t understand why nobody believes them. The mother being psychic was stupid, and likewise, I really enjoyed when the father was posessed and severely abused his wife. She was really irritating this time around.

I… wouldn’t waste my time. I don’t remember much else because it’s that unmemorable.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Not a Fan

The Blind Side (2009)

Date Watched: May 9, 2010

Source: redbox

FINALLY. A movie I really have no complaints about at all.

I just want to be Leigh Anne. I wish I had half the balls she does. Sandra Bullock was a-MAZ-ing. I can’t say enough about that.

The real story of Michael Oher is so touching… and Quinton Aaron does a fantastic job. I just wanted to hug Michael in the worst way. Even when he was angry and hurt and sort of lashing out, I wanted to take his hand and tell him it’ll be okay. Lawsie mercy. The Tuohy family are just saints. If they were accurately portrayed in the film, the way they accepted and embraced this polar opposite in their home… sigh. Just, sigh. More people on this planet need to be like them.

Two more of my “Stephen King” folk in this film; the wonderful Kathy Bates (Dolores Claiborne, Misery) and Ray McKinnon (The Stand, Needful Things). They were both fan-freaking-tastic.

I know I’m being vague, but there’s too much good. You just need to see it, that’s all. You just need to see it.


Queue it on Netflix

1 Comment

Filed under Loved It