Daily Archives: 05/31/2010

The Human Centipede: The First Sequence (2009)

Date Watched: May 31, 2010

Source:  On Demand

I’m breaking from the order to write this entry.

The reason for this should be pretty obvious to anybody who’s heard anything about this movie. If you’ve got the stomach to watch it, you’re probably pretty darned brave.

I was fighting with watching this movie. My morbid curiosity was battling it out with my gag reflex, and morbid curiosity won. Sure, I’m going to have to give my roommate $8 to cover the On Demand fee, but you want to know something? It was WORTH IT.

I wanted to write this while it was still fresh in my mind, but I didn’t want to post huge spoilers. However, if you know the premise of the movie, that’s sort of the worst part. If you watch it, you’ve already gotten past that point… so any spoilers I would give would be details that I wouldn’t normally go into on any film I talk about.  What I am going to do though, is give a very short, quick list that shouldn’t really give anything away.

Really disturbing stuff:

  • The surgery.
  • The initial unveiling of the finished centipede.
  • Where the centipede was kept.
  • The scene outside with the newspaper… but again, it’s basic premise stuff you know going in, so the blow is softened.
  • Going up the stairs.  By far, the worst part.

It really wasn’t nearly as bad as I anticipated.  I know there is supposed to be a continuation, but I don’t see how there can be at this point.  I will definitely watch it though.  I am a little surprised and slightly ill to admit… I liked it.  I liked the movie.  There, I said it.


Queue it on Netflix

2 Comments

Filed under Loved It