Daily Archives: 10/28/2010

#4: The Blair Witch Project (1999)

Moan all you want, but this movie scared the bejesus out of me when it came out. Shwam and I saw it in the theatre, and we both screamed out loud more than once. This was the first handheld camera horror movie that I know of… and it was a very effective method (to those who didn’t need to worry about getting motion sickness from it). Several have followed in BW’s path with the handheld filming method, but by then, people were already used to it.

This movie freaked me out for quite some time afterward. I remember Shwam and I both bought BW posters at Hot Topic very soon after, and while we both had our walls plastered in posters of all kinds… our BW posters wouldn’t stay on the wall. Of course, for our still-immature horror movie obsessed brains, that was an evil omen. We giggle about it now, but let’s be honest… if we had some stuffed white owls, we’d insist some horrible fate was attached to them too.

Once, I fell asleep during this movie. Don’t read too much into that, as I’d seen it at least a skillion times by then, I wasn’t scared by it anymore, and I sleep to movies. Yet somehow, I had a nightmare about it. Years later, and I still had a nightmare. That, people, is a good horror movie.


Queue it on Netflix

1 Comment

Filed under Loved It