Daily Archives: 01/04/2011

Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991)

Date Watched: December 10, 2010
Source: Netflix Instant Play

Okay, I liked this. I liked it because of Arnold Schwarzenegger and even more cheesy, still quoted lines. I liked it because of the new Terminator, and how it tied up a reference in Wayne’s World 2 that I’ve never understood.

I can’t explain much more as to why I liked it, because Sarah Connor was WAY annoying this time, and Edward Furlong always looks stoned and can’t act his way out of a paper bag. And they bugged me. Oh, they bugged me big time. But the movie still came out on top.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Pretty Good

Frankie and Johnny (1991)

Date Watched: December 4, 2010
Source: Netflix Instant Play

I don’t usually like these sorts of movies, but this one just has so much win. First, I love Al Pacino. Second, I wasn’t a huge fan of Michelle Pfeiffer, and this film was good enough to redeem her. Third, who didn’t wish they could live in Manhattan in the late 80s/early 90s? It’s the perfect setting for a romance.

Frankie is fragile and damaged goods, and wants nothing to do with Johnny, who’s just become a cook at the Manhattan cafe she waitresses at. But Johnny has his eye on her, and he will do anything to woo her. It works, and then it doesn’t work, and then it works, and then it doesn’t work… their relationship is priceless and beautiful and just plain real.

Love, love love this movie.


Queue it on Netflix

1 Comment

Filed under Loved It

Paths of Glory (1957)

Date Watched: December 4, 2010
Source: Netflix Instant Play

This film is freaking infuriating. You take one big shot General who can’t take his eyes off the prize, and countless men basically kamikaze themselves to the Germans. When the rest retreat or don’t advance, it pisses off the big shot General, who then orders three men to be chosen at random to be charged with treason. Treason! What a ridiculous charge to begin with. And of course, no matter how hard their lawyer tries, he can’t defend them in any way, because the big shot General and all the other big shots basically have the right to veto and squash any defense presented to them, no matter how BS their reasoning is. And so three men end up paying with their lives, on top of thousands paying theirs just so some ass big shot upstairs can get a promotion. And he ends up getting the boot for the whole debacle to begin with. So either they paid with their lives for nothing, or… they paid with their lives for nothing. WHAT THE HELL.

This movie pisses me off. Nobody deserves this kind of treatment.

Not even the stupid Frenchies.


Queue it on Netflix

1 Comment

Filed under Loved It

The Terminator (1984)

Date Watched: November 28, 2010
Source: Netflix

While Sarah Connor was rather irritating and dumb, and she and Kyle together were just a little sickening… this film is what makes Arnold Schwarzenegger who he is. And he’s a LOT. Proof? His last name isn’t a spelling error in Google Chrome. And his last name is a spelling error in life, period.

Anywho, there’s not a whole lot to say about this. It was done really well, and that’s why it’s a classic. It’s got great lines that people still quote today. It’s a template for all those doomed future films about robots that kill humans. It’s possible, even, that the today-cheesy fear that evil robots will one day take over the Earth comes directly from The Terminator. I’d bet a laser eye on it, should I ever need one.


Queue it on Netflix

2 Comments

Filed under Pretty Good

Hello? Is anybody out there?

1.4.11
Hello? Is anybody out there?

So it’s been almost a month since my last post, and I watched that movie over a month ago.

I’m attempting to come back and keep this relatively up-to-date.

Assuming anybody reads this anymore. But it’s for me more than anything, I suppose. so, we’ll see how that goes.

Got a lot of catching up to do.

Oh, and I’m migrating the top picks from the past year to the bottom columns to make room for new movies, should I ever have time to watch any.

1 Comment

by | 01/04/2011 · 2:27 pm