Daily Archives: 06/15/2010

Aileen: Life and Death of a Serial Killer (2003)

Date Watched: June 13, 2010
Source: Netflix Instant Play

I always love a good documentary. And I love a good true crime story. When someone says they’re interested in serial killers, people tend to think they’re morbid or twisted. But the interest in serial killers goes much further than, and often has little to do with, the actual murders. It’s about what goes on in their heads, and it’s fascinating. And if there was ever a documentary that really let you see into a serial killer’s mind, this is it.

Aileen Wournos was flat out nuts. She had every reason to be nuts… forced to live in the woods of Michigan for two years after having a baby at the age of 13 while selling her body to johns is enough of a reason for anyone to be nuts, and nuts she was. Oh, yes, she was. It’s so sad to watch this poor woman, paranoid to her very core about law enforcement and pretty much everyone else as well. Her life really didn’t have to turn out that way. She could not catch a break one day in her entire life. Everything that could be against her was.

This is a really great window into the mind of a serial killer, sure. But another facet is that she’s the first American female serial killer to be put to death. The whole thing is just a terrific, tragic, sad, interesting story. Well worth the watch.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Pretty Good

Rosemary’s Baby (1968)

Date Watched: June 13, 2010
Source: Netflix

I kept thinking, “When is something going to HAPPEN?” I kept wondering when the heck she was going to pop that kid out. It wasn’t until the very end that everything came together, and I realized the reason for the slow buildup. The pregnancy almost feels like a full 9 months sometimes during the movie. Like you’re watching it in real time. Maybe it was the times, but I would never go to a doctor if he told me not to take any vitamins, but instead to take some drink made by my quack neighbor. I can see if he gave me the recipe for a drink to make it myself, or if it came in little packets or bottles or whatever… being a naturalist is fine. It’s the part about it being from the crazy neighbor I never would have gone along with. But she did… she had to… or else there would have been no movie.

But as she grows, so does her fear that someone wants her baby for something sinister, and worse, that her own husband promised the baby to them. Even as you watch, you can’t really tell if she’s nuts or if there’s something to the whole thing. You don’t really find out until the last couple of minutes, but it’s worth the wait.

The only reason why I’m rating this the way I did is because again, this was very Seven Pounds. I’m sorry, but I just can’t ever say I loved a movie that really didn’t move until the last bit. The ending was great, but it didn’t make up for the other 2 hours where I kept wondering when something truly interesting was going to happen.


Queue it on Netflix

Leave a comment

Filed under Pretty Good